1800 616 617

Darren Weir treble brings up 100 metro milestone

Jul 09, 2016

Another milestone in Darren Weir's continued domination of Victorian racing was reached at Flemington today courtesy of training treble.

For the first time in his twenty year career, Weir surpassed 100 metropolitan winners for the season.

He joins only Lee Freedman (115, 2005-2006), David Hayes (103, 2006-2007) and Peter Moody (103.5, 2010-2011) in reaching a century in Melbourne.

Warrnambool Cup winner, Master Of Arts with Brad Rawiller riding brought up the milestone with an impressive win in the Banjo Paterson Series Final.

Starting a $2.70 favourite the pair cruised to a comfortable two and a quarter length victory.

Weir's winning day started when Killarney Kid again ridden by Rawiller made it 99 wins when winning the VRC-CRV Tour Trophy and then in the final race, Telopea and Craig Williams made it a treble with a good win in the Leilani Final.

That win also capped a memorable day for Williams, finishing with five winners to move to within one of the jockey's premiership behind Dwayne Dunn.

It's only the second time in William's career that he has booted home five winners, the other being in September 2006 at Caulfield.

For Weir, his rise in the past three seasons has been incredible, metropolitan winners growing from 36 winners in 2013/14 to 79 last season.

The ever affable Weir took the feat in his stride with little fuss or wanting of fanfare, but did acknowledge that winning in the city was the aim of his team.

“This is where you want to be competitive, in the city, and this has been the main focus for us,” Weir said.

But he also acknowledge that reaching the milestone was something you only dreamed about.

“If someone said you were going to do that at the start of the year, you would be telling them they’re kidding,” he said. “Anyway, it’s great that has happened and it’s out of the road.”

The next record in Weir's sights is the National record and with today's winners taking that tally to 332, the master horseman only needs three winners to break John Hawkes 2002/03 record of 334.

Australian Thoroughbred Bloodstock have been racing horses with Darren Weir since he was granted a licence, having great success with horses like Skewiff, True Courser, Lonhspresso, Falago and Platelet to name a few and currently have over 50 horses on his books.

If you would like to get involved with the ATB/Weir combination check out our Racehorse Shares for sale.

Article & Photo

Peter Morganti